Aug 132015
 

Hibou- Glow

Things to do in Los Angeles this weekend (8/13-8/16/15)-

Thursday

Dancehall DJ and singer Sister Nancy of Bam Bam fame, is performing at the Santa Monica Pier with Jesse Royal- http://tcs.santamonicapier.org/events/2015/8/13/sister-nancy-with-jesse-royal

Downtown ArtWalk is back for its once a month event- http://downtownartwalk.org/

The New Original Works Festival continues at REDCAT theater (ends Saturday)- http://www.redcat.org/festival/new-original-works-festival-2015

Friday

Hibou is opening for Cayucas at The El Rey- http://www.theelrey.com/events/detail/278447

Buzzfeed’s Hollywood Campus is having an outdoor screening of Empire Records with several of the actors from the film present for a Q&A (free with RSVP)- https://throwbacktheaterempirerecords.eventfarm.com/tokens/sessionAllocate?tr=GG46B6s7nDd3ov5hso8QSqMWPEDzmvcsCGZDdRb1VOvJJ0qCPZT7P5

George Clinton & Parliament Funkadelic are playing the Club Nokia- http://www.clubnokia.com/events/detail/277961

Friday and Saturday

Classical Remix Weekend is happening at California Plaza as part of the Grand Performances programs. Friday features Mark De Clive Lowe and Saturday features Daedelus- http://www.grandperformances.org/season

Saturday

Jibade-Khalil Huffman’s live presentation of his new work “MANTRA” is happening at Blum & Poe gallery in Culver City- https://www.facebook.com/events/496715510495043/

Cold War Kids are playing the last of KCRW’s free outdoor concerts at Annenberg Space for Photography- RSVP for entrance- http://soundinfocus.kcrw.com/

The English Beat are playing at the Roxy- http://www.theroxy.com/event/806653-english-beat-west-hollywood/

Perform Chinatown: Rush Hour is a free all day performance art festival- https://www.facebook.com/events/751108738334867/

Saturday and Sunday

Celebrate Japanese American culture in Little Tokyo as part of Nisei Week with exhibits, dance and musical performances and more. There is also a parade Sunday evening- http://www.jaccc.org/nisei-week

Sunday

homeLA’s dance performance will take place in an apartment in Highland Park this time. There is a limit of 8 people inside per performance which will take place on the hour from noon-8pm- http://www.homela.org/

All Weekend (Friday through Sunday)-

Echo Park Rising is a music event featuring multiple stages and venues with a HUGE lineup- highlights include Dengue Fever, Man or Astroman?,Fever the Ghost, Hanni El Khatib, Hannibal Buress, Tennis System, Happyness, and Tropical Popsicle. Free with a $25 VIP (for all three days) if you are feeling fancy- http://epr.la/

Berserktown II music festival is taking place at The Observatory in Santa Ana with a big lineup that includes Thee Oh Sees and a reunited Royal Trux- http://berserktown.com/#news

Aug 142014
 

Holy Ghost!- Dumb Disco Ideas

Things to do in (and around) Los Angeles this weekend (8/14-8/17)-

Thursday

Downtown LA Artwalk- http://www.downtownartwalk.org/

Foxygen at the Fonda- http://www.fondatheatre.com/events/detail/250350

La Santa Cecilia plays the Santa Monica Pier (free)- http://smpier.dola.com/event/2014/08/14/la-santa-cecilia

Friday through Sunday

Echo Park Rising- free music festival throughout the different venues of Echo Park- bands include- Allah-Las, Cherry Glazerr, Myron & E, yOya, The Fresh and Onlys and more- http://epr.la/

Nick Duran: every time you are near dance performance at the Hammer (each day from 2-3pm)- http://hammer.ucla.edu/programs-events/2014/08/nick-duran-every-time-you-are-near/

Friday

The Antlers are playing a free show (plus open bar and event poster) at Mack Sennett Studios- RSVP here- https://boxoffice-embed.stubhub.com/event/3862795

Superchunk is playing at the Center for the Arts Eagle Rock- http://cfaer.org/ai1ec_event/superchunk/?instance_id=15631

Saturday

Pacific Festival: The Dunes music festival at Newport Dunes Waterfront Resort benefiting the Surfrider Foundation- bands include: Holy Ghost!, Cherry Glazerr, De Lux, Miami Horror; afterwards you could also attend A Club Called Rhonda featuring the music of Giorgio Moroder- http://pacificfestival.electrostub.com/event.cfm?id=120850

Los Angeles photographer Gary Leonard is speaking at the Central Library- http://www.lapl.org/whats-on/events/la-focus-gary-leonard-conversation-la-observeds-kevin-roderick

Midnight showing of Legend followed by Labyrinth at Hollywood Forever Cemetery (Neverending Story @9 is sold out)- http://cinespia.org/event/fantasy-night-neverending-story/

Purple Rain is playing at the Autry- http://eatseehear.com/schedule/purple-rain/#.U-x0vEhfnU5

Sunday

Angel City Brewery host Avocado Fest- bands, food, mural tour, avocado ale- http://angelcitybrewery.com/events/avocado-fest/

It’s the last day of Nisei Week Japanese Festival and Sunday is the closing ceremony- http://www.niseiweek.org/

May 082014
 

A Place to Bury Strangers- And I’m Up

Things to do in and around Los Angeles this weekend (5/8-5/11)-

Thursday

Artwalk Downtown LA- this month focusing on textiles- http://www.downtownartwalk.org/

Artist Michael Smith speaks at MOCA (FREE/RSVP)- http://sites.moca.org/the-curve/art-talk-michael-smith/

The Pains of Being Pure at Heart at Amoeba Hollywood (FREE)- http://www.amoeba.com/live-shows/upcoming/detail-2957/

Mona Simpson and David O. Russell speak as part of the Hammer’s Some Favorite Writers series- http://hammer.ucla.edu/calendar/detail/type/program/id/2216

Tycho, with Gardens and Villa at the Fonda- http://www.fondatheatre.com/events/detail/249541

Thursday and Friday

Found Footage Festival stops in Los Angeles at the New Beverly- http://www.foundfootagefest.com/

Friday

iam8bit gallery is having an opening for the art show Grace & Ritual: Hidden showcasing the work of 33 women artists- https://www.facebook.com/events/1539734432919779/

Saturday

A Place to Bury Strangers at the Observatory (Santa Ana)- http://www.observatoryoc.com/events/a-place-to-bury-strangers

Citizen Kane at LACMA- http://www.lacma.org/event/citizen-kane

Part Time Punks 9 Year Anniversary Party with Ariel Pink and others- http://www.theecho.com/event/480519-ptps-9-year-anniversary-very-los-angeles/

National Lampoon’s Vacation at Hollywood Forever Cemetery-http://cinespia.org/event/vacation/

Brian Jonestown Massacre at the Wiltern- http://concerts.livenation.com/event/09004C710907CF60?camefrom=ramya_8e1

Saturday and Sunday

Echo Park Craft Fair- http://www.echoparkcraftfair.com/may2014/

Sunday

Psycho de Mayo at the Observatory- bands include SUUNS and Pentagram among others- http://www.observatoryoc.com/events/psycho-de-mayo

The Wizard of Oz (1939) in 3D at the Aero- http://www.americancinemathequecalendar.com/content/the-wizard-of-oz-3