Nov 022017
 

Daniel Johnston- Some Things Last A Long Time

There’s a sweet sadness to the music of Daniel Johnston. He has been around for a while and there is an excellent documentary about him, The Devil and Daniel Johnston, from 2005, that chronicles his life and career, as well as his struggles with manic depression and schizophrenia. His songs have been covered often by artists including Beck (covering the song below for an album of Johnston covers by various artists) Beach House, Yo La Tengo and many more. Johnston also has two songs included on the soundtrack for the movie Kids.

Daniel Johnston is playing tonight (11/02/17) at the Orpheum Theatre in Los Angeles.

 

Sep 182014
 

Beck- Heart is a Drum

Things to do in Los Angeles this weekend (9/18-9/21)-

Thursday

Neutral Milk Hotel, The Breeders, Daniel Johnston play the Hollywood Bowl- http://www.hollywoodbowl.com/tickets/neutral-milk-hotel/2014-09-18

DesignLAb at the Pacific Design Center is having an opening reception for 10 new exhibits featuring artists and designers- http://www.pacificdesigncenter.com/event/designlab-public-reception-3/

Cloud Cult are playing two sets at the Troubadour (one acoustic, one electric)- http://www.troubadour.com/event/606371-cloud-cult-los-angeles/

Friday

Author Junot Diaz will be reading from This is How You Lose Her at Skylight books- http://www.skylightbooks.com/event/junot-diaz-reads-how-you-lose-her

The 2nd Annual Afterglow Summer Video Series ends tonight at Pieter Performance Space with work from four LA-based video artists including
Harry Dodge and Aimee Goguen- http://www.pieterpasd.com/events/afterglow-summer-video-series/

Jungle with Beaty Heart at the Fonda- http://www.fondatheatre.com/events/detail/252153

Saturday

It’s Tarfest at the LaBrea Tar Pits Park- live bands include Hunter Hunted and The Moth & the Flame; there will be live painting by Craig ‘Craola’ Simkins, Nicola Verlato, and devNgosha; as well as food, drink and activities (FREE)- http://www.tarfest.com/

Artist Oliver Payne’s CHILL OUT performance at 356 Mission begins at 7pm; make sure you can follow the rules- http://356mission.tumblr.com/post/96731098470/oliver-paynes-chill-out-performance-saturday

Total Slacker are playing with Paws at the Echo- http://www.theecho.com/event/630923-total-slacker-los-angeles/

Saturday and Sunday

Beck is at the Orpheum- http://www.goldenvoice.com/shows/details/?id=252997

Parachute Market biannual design fair is at JF Chen showroom- http://www.parachutemarket.com/pages/events-and-tickets-ii

Sunset Strip Music Festival with Janes Addiction, Empire of the Sun, Cold War Kids, Big Freedia, Killer Mike and tons more play the two day festival- https://www.eventbrite.com/e/kroq-presents-the-2014-sunset-strip-music-festival-sat-920-sun-921-tickets-11780841815

Sunday

Daniel Joseph Martinez is speaking at LACMA and signing his book- http://www.lacma.org/event/daniel-joseph-martinez

It’s the last day to see the video installation, Drumroll, that won Steve McQueen (director of 12 Years a Slave) the Turner Prize, at MOCA Pacific Design Center- http://sites.moca.org/the-curve/2014/06/04/9148/

LA Feline Film Festival featuring the Internet Cat Video festival is in Exposition Park- http://lafelinefilmfestival.com/

Zammuto are playing at the Satellite- http://www.thesatellitela.com/event/611425-zammuto-luke-wyland-vinyl-los-angeles/

Apr 102014
 

Beck- Where It’s At

Things to do in and around Los Angeles this weekend (4/10-4/13)-

Thursday

Beck at the Arlington Theater in Ventura- http://thearlingtontheatre.com/schedule/eventdetail/117/-/beck

Artwalk Downtown LA- http://www.downtownartwalk.org/art_literature

Screening at MOCA Grand Ave of Hamlet A.D.D.http://sites.moca.org/thecurve/6191-2/

Chromeo at the Fonda Theatre- http://www.fondatheatre.com/events/detail/248587

Thursday through Sunday

Turner Classic Movie Festival- http://filmfestival.tcm.com/

Friday

Pet Shop Boys at Ventura Theater- http://www.venturatheater.net/event/472987-pet-shop-boys-electric-ventura/

Friday through Sunday

Paul Taylor Dance Company at The Music Center- http://www.musiccenter.org/about/Our-Programs/Glorya-Kaufman-Dance/201314-Subscriptions/Paul-Taylor-Dance-Company/

Saturday

NELA Second Saturday Gallery Night (Highland Park and Eagle Rock)- http://nelaart.org/

The Social Self: Selfies, Self-Documentation, and Self Portraiture symposium at LACMA- http://www.lacma.org/event/symposium-selfies

Clueless at the Electric Dusk Drive In (downtown)- http://www.electricduskdrivein.com/#!coming-up-next/cir7

Saturday and Sunday

LA Times Festival of Books- http://events.latimes.com/festivalofbooks/

Sunday

Otis College of Art and Design Graduate Open Studios- http://www.otis.edu/calendar/graduate-open-studios

CalArts MFA open studios- http://calarts.edu/event/2014-04-13/calarts-open-studios

Nov 212013
 

Bent Shapes- Panel of Experts

Things to do in Los Angeles this weekend-